Halal

Menu

Documentaries

ABOUT HALAL DOCS

Halal docs is an Amsterdam based documentary film company. Halal docs is part of Halal, an established film production company & photography agency with an international network of creatives, who work with the industry’s most influential movers and shakers. Halal has four partners and four departments: photography, documentary, commercials and film. The documentary department is headed by Olivia Sophie van Leeuwen, who is a partner of Gijs Kerbosch, Roel Oude Nijhuis and Gijs Determeijer at Halal.

The focus of Halal docs is to create documentaries of the highest international quality. Boasting with artistic value, our aim is to produce documentary films that surprise, inspire, engage and inform.

The personal approach and vast experience in the creative, communicative, financial and organizational aspects of film production, allows our documentary film directors to realize their greatest creative potential, whilst keeping their distinctive personal signature. Focusing on a number of documentaries in different stages of development and production, we strive to make the best documentaries and find international audiences in innovative and meaningful ways.

 

CALL US  +3120 639 1402
MAIL US  docs@halal.amsterdam

ABOUT OLIVIA

Olivia is known to be a passionate and ambitious documentary film producer, always striving to create films that surprise, inspire, engage and inform. Her main focus is to expand Halal Docs’ international portfolio and effectively attract and cultivate top talent to help create the greatest quality documentary films with high artistic value.

With over 10 years of experience in film production and with a mediastudies master degree at the University of Amsterdam and the New York University Tisch School of the Art on her back, Olivia has been working on documentaries, short films, TV series, art films and feature films for the past decade.

At Halal docs, Olivia works closely with directors to transform ideas into reality. Concentrating on a select number of documentary filmmakers with a distinctive personal signature, the focus is on content and artistic value. Olivia is a strong advocate for being involved in every aspect and part of a project and makes this her number one priority in order to achieve the highest potential of any idea.

Ultimately, Olivia drives on her own intuition and gut instinct, trying to make successful and artistic decisions for her films, connecting filmmakers to the industry’s most influential movers and shakers and audiences in the most innovative and meaningful way.

Inspired to create smart and enticing documentary films, in which she can lose herself – both as a producer as well as a human being – that is Olivia Sophie van Leeuwen, in a nutshell.

 

ABOUT THE TEAM

The core of HALAL docs consists of a carefully selected team of well-established experts as well as some of the brightest young talents. Driven by our common passion to create films and content of the highest value, our team brings together people who compliment and inspire each other to elevate each assignment and unleash its full potential.

In our experience, each project calls for a different mix of experience and creativity. Thus we effectively also have built an extensive and international network of highly experienced freelance producers, directors, writers and researchers, who are at our exposure to commission, depending on the specific requirements of the individual project.

Olivia Sophie van Leeuwen

Olivia Sophie van Leeuwen

PARTNER, PRODUCER & HEAD OF DOCUMENTARY DEPARTMENT

olivia@halal.amsterdam
+316 4181 3130

Gijs Kerbosch

Gijs Kerbosch

PARTNER, HEAD OF FICTION DEPARTMENT

gijsk@halal.amsterdam
+3120 639 1402

Roel Oude Nijhuis

Roel Oude Nijhuis

PARTNER, HEAD OF COMMERCIAL DEPARTMENT

roel@halal.amsterdam
+316 4856 0962

Gijs Determeijer

Gijs Determeijer

PARTNER, HEAD OF BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT

gijsd@halal.amsterdam
+316 2492 7213

Fenna Breitbarth

Fenna Breitbarth

LINE PRODUCER & HEAD OF FINANCE DOCUMENTARY

fenna@halal.amsterdam

Carolien Eversdijk

Carolien Eversdijk

FREELANCE LINE PRODUCER DOCUMENTARY

carolien@halal.amsterdam

Maarten Hoedemaekers

Maarten Hoedemaekers

FREELANCE RESEARCH & PRODUCTION DOCUMENTARY

maarten@halal.amsterdam

Maartje Ongering

Maartje Ongering

POST PRODUCTION COORDINATOR

maartje@halal.amsterdam
+316 4796 3292

Safaa Abdi

Safaa Abdi

Officemanager

safaa@halal.amsterdam

Hedy Tjin

Hedy Tjin

Freelance Graphic Designer & Image research

hedy@halal.amsterdam

Carole Vlerick

Carole Vlerick

Production manager DOCUMENTARY

carole@halal.amsterdam

Lisa Maier

Lisa Maier

DOCUMENTARY RESEARCH

lisam@halal.amsterdam

Romy Verbaan

Romy Verbaan

INTERN PRODUCTION & RESEARCH DOCUMENTARY

romy@halal.amsterdam

Zita Maas

Zita Maas

INTERN PRODUCTION & RESEARCH DOCUMENTARY

zita@halal.amsterdam

Sophie Luik

Sophie Luik

Intern Production & research Documentary